2004-02-22 | 4:35 p.m.
we turned another page, here comes the ice age

Dear Ralph Nader,
Why you want to make me hate you? Retire.
love always, jane.


Did you know you could buy ladybugs and preying mantis (mantises? mantii?) and set them up in your garden. Man, I wish I didn't live in an apartment. How awesome would that be? "Ooh! The UPS man is here. Bug delivery!" And then you'd be awash in red and green crawly things. Evidently they sell them as a natural pest repellent for your garden. I need a garden. I have windowsill herbs and all that, but I don't really want 100 bugs in my kitchen. Though the cat would probably have a good old time with that.

Yes, so I am ordering more seeds today, to see what other plants I can kill. I actually managed to kill a pothos (unthinkable) recently. I have no idea how that happened. I remember when I killed the basil (which was thriving until the sun burned it, ugh). That was sad. Also, some things just never grow. This is probably because I have a very haphazard "Leave it to nature. Oh wait, there's not much nature on my windowsill. Um, let's try God's will." approach to gardening.


OK, so this whole next part is about Jesus and stuff. So if you think I am a foolish fool for being into the whole God thing and I'm not-even-remotely cool enough for school because of it, just go on to your next internet destination. By tomorrow, I'll have something much less religiony here just for you. In the meantime, I'm sure this isn't for everyone, but it is very much for me.


Speaking of God's will, I finally caught Mel Gibson on Primetime Live (or whatever) with Diane Sawyer and I was incredulous and disgusted and offended. By Diane Sawyer. Don't get me wrong; I think Mel Gibson is pretty much a nutjob -- but that has nothing to do with his religious beliefs or his film. He was ridiculed and talked down to, not for the questionable choices he may have made in his life, not for the way he expresses himself, but for believing what many others do. When Diane Sawyer craftily flipped him off (like I wouldn't notice *that*!), she was flipping me off. It was a very frustrating interview to watch. There was a lot of talking back at the TV.

The (completely logical and not at all alarmist -- I've yet to hear anyone other than the media get like that about it) Jewish leaders interviewed voiced a concern about the film being, while not anti-Semitic, moving enough to perhaps stir Christians to act out in a negative way as a reaction. The history of violence and persecution against Jews perpetrated in the name of Passion plays is despicable and something to condemn and be ashamed of, but don't mistake it as anything but an "excuse" for inexcusable hate.

For Christians, the point of the Passion isn't that Jesus was executed. For Christians, there's no doubt that someone who performed what we believe to be numerous miracles chose to face this punishment, chose his own suffering for man's salvation. Why were Christians who screened the film inconsolably weeping and sobbing (which made Jews in attendance very uncomfortable, presumably because of the evils done in the name of the Passion)? I can't think it's because they were so stirred by the believed wrongdoings of some groups of people from 2,000 years ago. Not if they truly believe. The question Christians struggle with isn't, "Why would anyone cause this man of peace such suffering?" but "All that for me?" Which is a ridiculous concept if you don't believe, I'm sure, but you have to understand that this sacrifice, this physical acceptance of human suffering to create a path to salvation for all humans is the heart of everything Christians believe. I believe it. I believe it so elementally that there are very few people I could see this movie with, because I have to imagine my reaction is going to be a strong one. It's not so much that I am way too cool to do that in front of most people as that the feeling of gratitude, of thanks beyond expression is impossible for me to explain. As you all now know.

Anyway, as much as I hate to make such boring claims as media bias, it would be shortsighted to not see it here. I can't understand why Gibson and this film are being dragged through the mud. Maybe when I see the movie I will understand, but if what I saw on this program was any indication of the big picture, it's little more than ever-fashionable anti-Catholicism.

... say something, anything (1)


before--after--random



Loving: Dear Leader. Two more days until DVR is fixed. I hope. Also, Dunkin Donuts chai.

Hating: I have to start cooking now. I am lazy. It will be good and fun, I know. But I am still lazy.

Needing: To start cooking, goshdarnit.



I love you/You pay my rent

everything she wants

they said they were friends of mine






more more more

moving on over - 11:17 a.m. , 2004-06-14

something's always wrong - 3:30 p.m. , 2004-06-09

I feel like I won the cup - 10:16 a.m. , 2004-06-08

you never give me (my) money - 12:11 a.m. , 2004-06-05

raise your voice in celebration of the days that we have wasted - 2:26 p.m. , 2004-06-02


superhot DDYW logo by THE FAN
foxy JANEST font by FUELFONTS