2004-05-20 | 3:46 p.m.
I felt like an ass 'cause I was one

I just won some stuff on eBay. Won, heh. Six years in (I think it's been that long?), it's still one of the most satisfying things in my life. When it is a hotly contested auction, at least. Ooh! The thrill of it!

Speaking of hotly contested auctions and thrills, back when I won that Joel Plaskett real life shirt (for charity, of course), I'm sure I knew this, but of course I forgot it, but I noticed it today while looking over tapes to sell (most of which I had taped my own things over. "I'll never need this rare U2 promo video. Tape Oddville over it!" Idiot.) I came upon "From the Back of the Film" by Thrush Hermit. He's wearing the shirt (look up) in the video. Oh man. Oh God. Oh oh. I really need to get a big ol' frame to put it in. It's just hanging on the back of the door between Dollie and my bedrooms.

Yes, we have separate bedrooms. You know when people live together and you wonder if they are together together? I always feel like people want to see the back of my apartment to see if there really are two bedrooms. I mean, maybe they don't. Maybe I just like thinking there is any controversy in my life. But yeah, two bedrooms. Two beds. Two everything. Sorry, boys.

Ugh, "The Bachelor" totally sucked. I'm glad "The Enquirer" spilled the beans way in advance, because if I waited and learned that, man I would have been annoyed.

I think I will make mashed sweet potatoes with dinner for that Everyone Please Love Carbs day. There's an idea. OK then. Better go buy some.

Ooh, but first, they just played two of my most misheard commercials in a row!

For Applebees: "I want to talk about ME, want to talk about I" (it's MEAT and FIRE. Oops.)

And then there's Troy: "Critics are hating America's #1 movie!"

Ahahahahha. Oh no.

... say something, anything (2)



2004-05-14 | 6:58 p.m.
hemi-powered drones

My computer totally freaked out in a really bad freaking out way. Of course this would happen on a Thursday (my only "definitely working" days are Monday and Thursday), 30 minutes before deadline. Of course. There was hate and hundreds of restarts and crying and tricks and more crying. Ugh.

All this the day after a Sloan trip. The Man is trying to destroy me, see? I was happy, but not for long. Grr.

Another thing is that I woke up on Wednesday morning with a horrible stiffness and pain between my shoulder blades. Who the hell has upper back pain? Man, I can't even get a normal pain. Anyway, when I look up what is wrong, it says that is because of sitting in front of a computer and also poor posture. Hi, those things have been steady for 10+ years. Why did it have to start now? Grr. So yeah, it still is. And I hate it.

What the fuck is a hemi? How is it that I have lived 28 years (without upper back pain, mind you) never hearing this word EVER until like 6 months ago. I've been watching TV with alarming commitment for probably all of those 28 years. And I've seen a whole lot of car commercials during that time. And I never never ever heard "Hemi." Now it is featured in a billion car commercials (Are they all for the same vehicle? do I look like I care?) and every time they say it, I want to slam my head through a window. A closed window. Just the word, it infuriates me.

You know who doesn't infuriate me? Sloan. I would like to talk about that more, but I am too crabby. Maybe tomorrow.

Tonight we are supposed to have a party. The party involves ice cream cake and likely only one other person. I like that party.

OOH! I remember where I ever heard hemi before. In "Born to Run," which is interesting as I was just in Asbury Park. Hmm. But commercials, no. Why now do people care about the hemi? I still hate it. See, I had to talk about it again. I do this a lot. I always have. In high school, the only criticism on my papers was generally , "Too circular." I've become better at editing to make that not true, but I am too cranky to even do that today. Now that is bad.

... say something, anything (2)



2004-05-12 | 10:58 a.m.
I'm not through with you yet

What did Sloan play, you ask? Well, I went to two shows too close together, and so the differences between the two are sketchy, but I'll try.

Both nights they did every song off Action Pact save "Fade Away."*

Even "Backstabbin'"?

Even "Backstabbin'."

Friday night's encore was "I Am the Cancer" (after consulting us) and "If it Feels Good, Do It." Saturday's encore was "Deeper Than Beauty" (Patrick on drums, Chris on guitar. PP messed up halfway through. It was fabulous), "Losing California" (Kim Z shoutout, what?) and "She Says What She Means" (that's my jam).

Other songs played either one night or the other or both (I indicate so when I can remember) include, "Never Seeing the Ground For the Sky," "The Lines You Amend," "The Great Wall," "The Other Man," "Money City Maniacs," "Step On It, Jean" (Sat only), "Coax Me," "Underwhelmed (Sat only)," "The Good in Everyone," "Sensory Deprivation" (Fri only, sadly) and "People of the Sky."

Action Pact is, of course, better live. The shows were really fun and the band was energetic and happy. CM still manages his jumpkicks at his delicate age and they all manage to rock fiercely in all circumstances. I give both shows a solid thumbs-up, though I think I liked Saturday a little better.

And yeah, I am going to Asbury Park. I'm just a sucker like that. A sucker for Sloan.

Edited to add: There is some dispute over whether they played "Fade Away" on night one. I do not remember it, but Dollie does. Also, added "The Other Man." Duh.

... say something, anything (4)



2004-05-10 | 10:30 a.m.
nobody wants a party to end

On Friday, Sloan was good. On Saturday, Sloan was good.

I love Sloan. They pull off braces and buzzcuts and jeans that don't zip (oh man) with charm and finesse.

Two shows should be enough, and in many ways it was enough. But it wasn't.

Do I go see Sloan in Asbury Park on Wednesday? That is the question of the day.

... say something, anything (2)


before--after--random



Loving: Winning! Yay!

Hating: I have to pay for it now. Boo!

Needing: Some of my eBay crap to sell. Argh!



I love you/You pay my rent

everything she wants

they said they were friends of mine






more more more

moving on over - 11:17 a.m. , 2004-06-14

something's always wrong - 3:30 p.m. , 2004-06-09

I feel like I won the cup - 10:16 a.m. , 2004-06-08

you never give me (my) money - 12:11 a.m. , 2004-06-05

raise your voice in celebration of the days that we have wasted - 2:26 p.m. , 2004-06-02


superhot DDYW logo by THE FAN
foxy JANEST font by FUELFONTS